eXport+ Integration for SOLIDWORKS PDM Professional
eXport+ integration for PDM is the eXport+ functionality made available within the SOLIDWORKS PDM Professional environment. It exposes the same set of features as the stand-alone version of eXport+, but runs as a PDM task and handles the caching, check-in and check-out of files automatically.
Configuring eXport+ Task
When eXport+ PDM task is created, specific settings can be configured on the corresponding pages
eXport+ Task Page
- Create a context menu command to run the task on demand. The task runs on all the selected files and/or folders.
eXport+ Startup Page
- Version of the eDrawings application to run the task. If Default is selected, the default version of eDrawings is used
- Allows user to edit the settings on this page on the task startup
eXport+ Input Page
- File filters to process
- Only process top-level files in the input folders
- Allow the user to update the file list before the task is run
- Process all sheets for drawings or configurations for parts and assemblies
- Allow user to edit settings above on the task launch
eXport+ Output Page
- Output directory for the produced files
- If checked, the directory is relative to the source file; otherwise it is relative to the vault root
- Browse output file path
- List of export formats and the naming templates for the files to produce
- Allow task to overwrite the files
- Check-in all the files produced by the task automatically
- Add the file reference (Paste-As-Reference) association between the source file and produced file
- Message to add to check-in
- Variables mapping between the source file and produced file
- Allow user to edit settings above on the task launch
eXport+ Resilience Page
- Timeout in seconds for running of the export operation
- Allow the execution to continue if any errors are encountered
- Allow user to edit the settings above on the task launch
eXport+ Journal Page
- Enable the detailed reports (recommended). If this option is not selected, only a summary is saved with the task
- Path to a folder where detailed reports are saved
- Browse for the detailed report folder
- Store the detailed log in the report
Launching Task
When the task is launched (either on demand from the context menu or automatically via a workflow trigger) and the user has selected options to edit any of the settings, the following dialog is displayed.
This dialog is displayed on the machine that initiated the task. The user can edit the file list (if selected) or any other options. All changes are saved into the task instance and do not affect the task definition.
Once the dialog is closed, the task runs on the task server according to the configuration